About Us

History of GITA

In 1982, a formal not-for-profit organization was chartered to serve the growing industry with an educational forum to exchange ideas and keep up with changing technologies. The association was named AM/FM International, reflecting a revolutionary new technology that was sweeping the utility industry.

AM/FM International provided vision and leadership in educating individuals interested in implementing AM/FM/GIS technology. In 1998, AM/FM International changed its name to the Geospatial Information & Technology Association (GITA), in order to better reflect the association’s new focus. GITA’s mission is to provide geospatial solutions in education, information exchange, and applied research on the use and benefits of geospatial information and technology for worldwide infrastructure.

The industries that GITA serves are defined as infrastructure-based organizations that can benefit from the application of geospatial information technologies. GITA defines infrastructure as all fundamental services, activities, and operations that sustain our communities and way of life.

Current Board Members & Members at Large

PRESIDENT - Mark Maass
Cyient
mark.maass@cyient.com


PAST-PRESIDENT - Mary Phillips
GIS Manager Benton County
mary.phillips@co.benton.wa.us

TREASURER - Nicole Fink
GIS & Mapping Services Specialist
BC Hydro Photogrammetry
nicole.fink@bchydro.com

SECRETARY - Candi Burck
CADD Technician III
City of Portland
Bureau of Environmental Services
candi.burck@portlandoregon.gov


MEMBERS AT LARGE

Christina Quan
Sr. Account Executive
Clevest Solutions Inc.
christina.quan@clevest.com


Courtney Maxson
GIS Consultant, FME Specialist
Spatial Business Systems
courtney.maxson@spatialbiz.com

Piet Nooij
GIS Project Manager
FortisBC Energy Inc.
piet.nooij@fortisbc.com

Les Giles
Manager, Photogrammetry Services
BC Hydro
les.giles@bchydro.com

Eric Hoogenraad
Manager of Geomatics
City of Abbotsford
ehoogy@shaw.ca

Jason Hart
HARTerra Spatial Solutions
President
Jason.Hart@harterra.com

Keith MacLachlan
Account Manager, Pacific Region
Esri Canada
kmaclachlan@esri.ca

Jason Nielsen
Business Systems Analyst II
Franklin PUD
jnielsen@franklinpud.com

David A. Brown
Manager US Operations
Terra Remote Sensing
dave.brown@terraremote.com

Cameron Shankland
VP Business Development
Aethon Aerial Solutions
cameron.shankland@aethon-aerialsolutions.com

Keith Krall
Utility Account Manager
ESRI
kkrall@esri.com

Volker H. Elste
Account Sales Executive
Intergraph Corporation
volker.elste@intergraph.com

©2017 PNW GITA. All Rights Reserved.